E-P2 trade for Fuji X10?

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by Grinch, Jun 2, 2012.

1. Grinch

Grinch Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jan 9, 2011
    Hey, I've locally advertised my E-P2 and 17mm and have been offered a fuji X10 in trade. Would you do this? I have no experience with fuji, but I have heard about the orbs...
    Any experience or opinions would be greatly appreciated.
    I still am keeping my E-P3, so I'm not giving up on m4/3.
  2. Ned

Ned Mu-43 Legend

Jul 18, 2010
    Alberta, Canada
    I wouldn't do it. Keep the E-P2 as a backup body to your E-P3. Performance wise, the E-P2 with 17mm f/2.8 is more like carrying around an X100 with its 25mm f/2.8 lens. The X10 is just as big and houses a smaller sensor. Its only real advantage is zoom range. I mean, maybe if you just want to try out something different for the fun of it, but I think having a second body to mount a different type of lens, or to keep mounted with a compact lens, and to serve as backup in case of an emergency... is infinitely more practical. As a pro photographer I wouldn't consider having only one body in a system, so I would look at filling those basics first before adding "extras".
    • Like Like x 1
  3. crsnydertx

crsnydertx Mu-43 Top Veteran

Dec 31, 2010
    Houston, TX
    E-P2+17mm = X-100 in performance? Nah....at least not in IQ, viewfinder, etc. Different strata.

EP-2+17 better than X-10? Sure. Different strata.:smile:

On the other hand, if you want/need a zoom camera that rides in a belt pack without sticking way out, a Fuji X-10 is definitely less bulky than, say, an Oly E-PM1 with kit zoom. On the other hand, there's a progression of smaller zooms available, with the Panny LX-5, the Oly XZ-1, and the Canon S95/S100 considered as enthusiast point-and-shoot cameras with decent image quality. But if size doesn't matter, MFT or larger sensors are directionally the way to go.