E-P2 Settings

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by Muntjack, Aug 10, 2010.

1. Muntjack

Muntjack Mu-43 Veteran

Jul 26, 2010
    Hi Chaps,
    I would appreciate any advice and experience of others as to their optimal settings used on the E-P2.
    I shoot mainly Vivid or Natural JPEGS and mainly in natural light.

I would love to hear comments on the settings for:-

Noise Reduction
    Noise Filter.

Clearly I am looking for the sharpest images possible with little blowout and minimum noise and no 'funny' shadows. I am new to digital and can't quite understand why someone would for instance select a negative setting for Sharpness or Contrast??
  2. BBW

BBW Super Moderator Emeritus

Muntjack, I'm wondering if you've reviewed Brian's https://www.mu-43.com/f42/olympus-e-p2-quick-start-part-1-a-586/ because the series is very helpful, plus the different threads have questions posed by different members, and those threads are still open to questions, too. I found them quite helpful when I was first trying to get my head around everything.
  3. Streetshooter

Streetshooter Administrator Emeritus

Dec 15, 2009
    Phila, Pa USA
    Many shooters shoot the camera in kind of a neutral mode. It's easier to correct in the Processing software then in the camera.
    For example, you have the camera to sharpen and realize that it's over sharpening...uh oh....

if that happens in your software, it's an easy fix. Myself and I think a few others prefer to do RAW...then the digital world is at your command....
    • Like Like x 1
  4. dannat

dannat Mu-43 Regular

May 2, 2010
    Melbourne Australia
    for the noise reduction at low iso's it makes little diff, maybe set it at low (the zero NR still seems to do smoothing) at iso of 1600 or more maybe switch it to high based on what you are doing (have used for long night shots)
  5. Muntjack

Muntjack Mu-43 Veteran

Jul 26, 2010