E-P2, GF1, or GF2 with EVF

Discussion in 'This or That?' started by Wes7, Oct 26, 2011.

1. Wes7

Wes7 Mu-43 Regular

Oct 22, 2011
    Hey guys,

I have checked several threads around the forums and have found a lot of great information, but I would like some specific feedback from users who may have work processes similar to mine or have experience with the E-P2, GF1, or GF2 with their appropriate EVFs.

I have been shooting a M4/3 camera, the EP-1, for about six months. I have really enjoyed the E-P1, but the LCD got busted, so it is time for a new body. If I had to pick complaints, it can be difficult to focus with the LCD and the MF assist is a little cumbersome.

I am trying to stay below $600 for a replacement, and thanks to offers from members of the forum or used deals on Amazon, I can easily do that with any of the following combinations:

1. E-P2 + VF-2 or VF-3
    2. GF1 + LVF1
    3. GF2 + 14mm + LVF1

I currently shoot with the Panasonic 20mm, an old Nikon 50mm 1.8, and a Konica 135mm 3.2. I also have the M. Zuiko 14-42mm, but I rarely use it. I would say I shoot the majority of my shots with the 20mm and the 50mm, and manual focus more than half the time. I generally carry the camera in a bag, so size is not a big issue, but I do prefer the aesthetic and handling of the "rangefinder" style bodies, so I am not really considering a G2 or G3. I shoot primarily in M or AP, though my wife frequently uses the camera with the 20mm on iAuto, AP, or SP.

My questions are as follows:

1. If you have any specific feedback relating to the specific camera / VF combinations, I'd love to hear it.
    2. If you are using an LVF1 to manual focus legacy lens, how do you feel about it?
    3. If you are using a GF2, how do you feel about the controls? the GF2 with the 14mm is a great buy, but I am a little worried that I am going to get frustrated with the user interface and wish I had something more tactile.