E-P1 AF Selection

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by mitchins, Nov 27, 2010.

1. mitchins

mitchins New to Mu-43

Nov 24, 2010
    Sydney, Australia
    Hi all,
    I'm relatively new to the PEN and this forum, so it might have already been covered somewhere. Out of irritance of the camera choosing whatever it sees fit for focus/metering, I set my E-P1 to centre spot focus, however this limits my ability to compose anything other than holiday snaps easily.

On my Alpha 850 one of my favourite things is using the joystick to set the focus point for AF instantly and easily, I can't see anything easily on the PEN, does anyone know anything about this?

Thanks guys

• Like Like x 1
  2. Vivalo

Vivalo Olympus Loser

Nov 16, 2010
    Finland
    You can change your focus point from the super control menu (or whatever that is called) when you hit the ok-button and there about in the middle of the selection pattern you have the field where you can set the focus area. From there you can choose any of the focus points or the whole area, in which case the camera will choose the "right" point for you.

I personally keep the focus point nearly always in the middle and then focus first to the subject I want to be sharp and then (while keeping the shutter button half-pressed) frame/compose the shot. This way I can be sure where the focus will be and it is a lot faster than anykind of way to change the focus point.

• Like Like x 1
  3. ~tc~

~tc~ Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Oct 22, 2010
    Houston, TX
    X2

4. sparkin

sparkin Mu-43 Regular

Nov 18, 2010
    Lexington, KY
    X3! Doesn't everyone do this ? :smile:

5. ~tc~

~tc~ Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Oct 22, 2010
    Houston, TX
    Apparently not. Perhaps it breaks down to people who used compacts (where this practice is really necessary due to slow AF) and those who came from SLRs?

6. Vivalo

Vivalo Olympus Loser

Nov 16, 2010
    Finland