E-P1/2/L1 ultimate Exposure control... a tip.

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by Brian Mosley, Feb 18, 2010.

  1. Brian Mosley

    Brian Mosley Administrator Emeritus Charter Member

    Dec 15, 2009
    Hello everyone,

    as you may know, all Olympus DSLRs and now the E-P1/2/L1 offer auto ISO in Manual exposure mode... this is great for selecting your desired Aperture and Shutter speed - and allowing the camera to choose the ISO to give you an image within auto exposure.

    I used this feature when taking the first shot in my PAD project :

    E-P2 + 20mm f1.7
    1/80s f/1.7 at 20.0mm iso1600
    [​IMG]

    Unfortunately, you can't set EV compensation in Manual exposure mode... and you can't set a minimum ISO limit for Auto ISO either (just default and Max)

    I have discovered a nice workaround though - if you're working with a legacy lens.

    Simply set the camera to Auto ISO, Shutter priority and you can then apply EV compensation... setting Aperture as you would, on the lens itself.

    In effect, I think this is the most responsive mode of exposure control... you can select the Aperture (via the lens control), Shutter speed and EV compensation in the camera... and allow the camera to determine the ISO automatically to give you the desired exposure.

    Hope this helps!

    Cheers

    Brian
     
    • Like Like x 12
  2. Bullfrog

    Bullfrog Mu-43 Top Veteran Charter Member

    Great shot Brian!
     
  3. BBW

    BBW Super Moderator Emeritus Charter Member

    Very interesting explanation Brian. This offers up some new ideas - thank you!
     
  4. Brian Mosley

    Brian Mosley Administrator Emeritus Charter Member

    Dec 15, 2009
    One point I didn't mention... in Manual exposure mode with Auto ISO (as the image above was taken) - the Max ISO limit is active, which I had set to ISO 1600 so the camera ramped up to ISO 1600 but no further. This resulted in an image which, though underexposed by auto-exposure measure was actually what I wanted for the night scene. :yahoo:

    Cheers

    Brian
     
    • Like Like x 2
  5. Djarum

    Djarum Super Moderator Moderator Subscribing Member Charter Member

    Dec 15, 2009
    Huntsville, AL, USA
    Real Name:
    Jason
    I've personally found the A priority mode pretty good with Auto ISO. I use the EV control so that the camera will choose to either change shutter speed or ISO depending on what it thinks is best. But I'm not using legacy glass, either.

    One of the complaints it seems some users have is that they can't set a max shutter speed in A priority or auto mode. The thing is, if the user has the ability to set max shutter AND max ISO to whatever the user thinks is acceptable, what happens when the shot is under exposed because the camera has hit a wall with BOTH values?
     
  6. Brian Mosley

    Brian Mosley Administrator Emeritus Charter Member

    Dec 15, 2009
    Yes, Aperture priority mode is fine with m4/3rds lenses - but I usually have ISO fixed in this mode.

    I would think a minimum shutter speed would be more useful (to freeze the subject / avoid camera blur)... but in answer to your question - the image would be under exposed... but as with the example above - that's pretty much what you want and expect, having been given the control.

    Cheers

    Brian
     
  7. cosinaphile

    cosinaphile Mu-43 All-Pro Charter Member

    Dec 26, 2009
    new york city
    i didnt trust auto iso, but i think ill give it a whirl, thanks
     
  8. Streetshooter

    Streetshooter Administrator Emeritus Subscribing Member Charter Member

    Dec 15, 2009
    Phila, Pa USA
    I've been using auto iso in A mode with the 20mm etc.
    I have the EV set to -1/3.
    It's been working great so far.
    I dare not put my M glass on as I don't want to get that started.
    Good tip Brian, thanks.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  9. Brian Mosley

    Brian Mosley Administrator Emeritus Charter Member

    Dec 15, 2009
    Don, I've just been out with the 17mm f2.8 fitted... Auto ISO in Manual exposure mode just seems ideal - rather than worrying about EV compensation, I just switched to centre weighted metering.

    Cheers

    Brian
     
    • Like Like x 2
  10. Streetshooter

    Streetshooter Administrator Emeritus Subscribing Member Charter Member

    Dec 15, 2009
    Phila, Pa USA
    Brian,
    I always set my digicams to -1/3.
    I use averaging metering. It helps keep even exposure and the I can
    push/pull process in LR if need be.

    Auto ISO works great. I learned it from one of my workshop members.
    "By teaching, so will you be taught".
     
    • Like Like x 4
  11. Brian Mosley

    Brian Mosley Administrator Emeritus Charter Member

    Dec 15, 2009
    Hi Don,

    I don't find it necessary to set EV to -0.3 unless shooting a high contrast scene - could be shooting raw with natural colour/ -2 contrast/ -2 sharpening/ -2 saturation/ Natural gradation... at ISO 200 for base.

    Cheers

    Brian
     
  12. Streetshooter

    Streetshooter Administrator Emeritus Subscribing Member Charter Member

    Dec 15, 2009
    Phila, Pa USA
    You guys in the Colonies do things different than here in the civilized world.
    Do I have that backwards, oh my.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  13. Bill Gordon

    Bill Gordon Mu-43 Top Veteran Charter Member

    You sure as hell do have things backassed!~!:)>))!
     
  14. Djarum

    Djarum Super Moderator Moderator Subscribing Member Charter Member

    Dec 15, 2009
    Huntsville, AL, USA
    Real Name:
    Jason
    Thats what I meant. To me, when someone says minimum shutter speed, its counter-intuitive, because as we slow the shutter speed, we increase the time in exposure(which is why I said maximum, lol).

    At any rate, I find Auto ISO excelent in A mode, and this is one reason I picked the EP1 over the GF1.

    I know that many LX3 users don't like the fact that they can't set the minimum shutter speed in A priority with the EP1. For any given scene with a fixed apeture:

    Max ISO hit - Minimum shutter speed hit -> possible under exposure
    Max ISO hit - Increase Minimum Shutter - > possible blurrines
    Increase ISO - Minimum shutter speed hit -> possible too much noise

    So to my point, having the ability to set a minimum shutter might be nice, but it does have its consequences.
     
  15. Djarum

    Djarum Super Moderator Moderator Subscribing Member Charter Member

    Dec 15, 2009
    Huntsville, AL, USA
    Real Name:
    Jason
    With my small P&S, I tend to shoot -2/3ev. With the EP1, I shoot -1/3 EV in A mode with AUTO ISO(sometimes I fix the ISO depending on situation). I keep the metering in the first mode(ESP or DSP..something like that). I keep the gradation on normal.
     
  16. Streetshooter

    Streetshooter Administrator Emeritus Subscribing Member Charter Member

    Dec 15, 2009
    Phila, Pa USA
    DJ,
    That's about as good as it gets with the Pen 1.
    We think alike....sure hope your here in the colony.
     
  17. cosinaphile

    cosinaphile Mu-43 All-Pro Charter Member

    Dec 26, 2009
    new york city
    -1\3 exp comp is a frequent choice i make too
     
  18. Streetshooter

    Streetshooter Administrator Emeritus Subscribing Member Charter Member

    Dec 15, 2009
    Phila, Pa USA
    It's a colony thing, they wouldn't understand...
     
  19. noodlehaus

    noodlehaus Mu-43 Veteran

    202
    Feb 14, 2010
    Just what I'm looking for. Thanks for the info.
     
  20. pete

    pete Mu-43 Regular

    156
    Feb 26, 2010
    Phoenix, Az
    Hey all, this may be old news but here's my little set up for exposure. I have my ael/afl button set to s/af/mf, and the shutter button is only used for exposure set and taking the picture, it will not focus. That way you can pre-set a spot to focus and then just shoot with the shutter button. Make sense?
    Thanks all.