E-P1/2/L1 ultimate Exposure control... a tip.

Brian Mosley

Administrator Emeritus
Joined
Dec 15, 2009
Messages
2,998
Hello everyone,

as you may know, all Olympus DSLRs and now the E-P1/2/L1 offer auto ISO in Manual exposure mode... this is great for selecting your desired Aperture and Shutter speed - and allowing the camera to choose the ISO to give you an image within auto exposure.

I used this feature when taking the first shot in my PAD project :

E-P2 + 20mm f1.7
1/80s f/1.7 at 20.0mm iso1600
View attachment 151767

Unfortunately, you can't set EV compensation in Manual exposure mode... and you can't set a minimum ISO limit for Auto ISO either (just default and Max)

I have discovered a nice workaround though - if you're working with a legacy lens.

Simply set the camera to Auto ISO, Shutter priority and you can then apply EV compensation... setting Aperture as you would, on the lens itself.

In effect, I think this is the most responsive mode of exposure control... you can select the Aperture (via the lens control), Shutter speed and EV compensation in the camera... and allow the camera to determine the ISO automatically to give you the desired exposure.

Hope this helps!

Cheers

Brian
 

Brian Mosley

Administrator Emeritus
Joined
Dec 15, 2009
Messages
2,998
One point I didn't mention... in Manual exposure mode with Auto ISO (as the image above was taken) - the Max ISO limit is active, which I had set to ISO 1600 so the camera ramped up to ISO 1600 but no further. This resulted in an image which, though underexposed by auto-exposure measure was actually what I wanted for the night scene. :yahoo:

Cheers

Brian
 

Djarum

Super Moderator
Joined
Dec 15, 2009
Messages
3,353
Location
Huntsville, AL, USA
Real Name
Jason
I've personally found the A priority mode pretty good with Auto ISO. I use the EV control so that the camera will choose to either change shutter speed or ISO depending on what it thinks is best. But I'm not using legacy glass, either.

One of the complaints it seems some users have is that they can't set a max shutter speed in A priority or auto mode. The thing is, if the user has the ability to set max shutter AND max ISO to whatever the user thinks is acceptable, what happens when the shot is under exposed because the camera has hit a wall with BOTH values?
 

Brian Mosley

Administrator Emeritus
Joined
Dec 15, 2009
Messages
2,998
I've personally found the A priority mode pretty good with Auto ISO. I use the EV control so that the camera will choose to either change shutter speed or ISO depending on what it thinks is best. But I'm not using legacy glass, either.
Yes, Aperture priority mode is fine with m4/3rds lenses - but I usually have ISO fixed in this mode.

One of the complaints it seems some users have is that they can't set a max shutter speed in A priority or auto mode. The thing is, if the user has the ability to set max shutter AND max ISO to whatever the user thinks is acceptable, what happens when the shot is under exposed because the camera has hit a wall with BOTH values?
I would think a minimum shutter speed would be more useful (to freeze the subject / avoid camera blur)... but in answer to your question - the image would be under exposed... but as with the example above - that's pretty much what you want and expect, having been given the control.

Cheers

Brian
 

Streetshooter

Administrator Emeritus
Joined
Dec 15, 2009
Messages
5,138
Location
Phila, Pa USA
I've been using auto iso in A mode with the 20mm etc.
I have the EV set to -1/3.
It's been working great so far.
I dare not put my M glass on as I don't want to get that started.
Good tip Brian, thanks.
 

Brian Mosley

Administrator Emeritus
Joined
Dec 15, 2009
Messages
2,998
Don, I've just been out with the 17mm f2.8 fitted... Auto ISO in Manual exposure mode just seems ideal - rather than worrying about EV compensation, I just switched to centre weighted metering.

Cheers

Brian
 

Streetshooter

Administrator Emeritus
Joined
Dec 15, 2009
Messages
5,138
Location
Phila, Pa USA
Brian,
I always set my digicams to -1/3.
I use averaging metering. It helps keep even exposure and the I can
push/pull process in LR if need be.

Auto ISO works great. I learned it from one of my workshop members.
"By teaching, so will you be taught".
 

Brian Mosley

Administrator Emeritus
Joined
Dec 15, 2009
Messages
2,998
Hi Don,

I don't find it necessary to set EV to -0.3 unless shooting a high contrast scene - could be shooting raw with natural colour/ -2 contrast/ -2 sharpening/ -2 saturation/ Natural gradation... at ISO 200 for base.

Cheers

Brian
 

Djarum

Super Moderator
Joined
Dec 15, 2009
Messages
3,353
Location
Huntsville, AL, USA
Real Name
Jason
Yes, Aperture priority mode is fine with m4/3rds lenses - but I usually have ISO fixed in this mode.



I would think a minimum shutter speed would be more useful (to freeze the subject / avoid camera blur)... but in answer to your question - the image would be under exposed... but as with the example above - that's pretty much what you want and expect, having been given the control.

Cheers

Brian
Thats what I meant. To me, when someone says minimum shutter speed, its counter-intuitive, because as we slow the shutter speed, we increase the time in exposure(which is why I said maximum, lol).

At any rate, I find Auto ISO excelent in A mode, and this is one reason I picked the EP1 over the GF1.

I know that many LX3 users don't like the fact that they can't set the minimum shutter speed in A priority with the EP1. For any given scene with a fixed apeture:

Max ISO hit - Minimum shutter speed hit -> possible under exposure
Max ISO hit - Increase Minimum Shutter - > possible blurrines
Increase ISO - Minimum shutter speed hit -> possible too much noise

So to my point, having the ability to set a minimum shutter might be nice, but it does have its consequences.
 

Djarum

Super Moderator
Joined
Dec 15, 2009
Messages
3,353
Location
Huntsville, AL, USA
Real Name
Jason
Brian,
I always set my digicams to -1/3.
I use averaging metering. It helps keep even exposure and the I can
push/pull process in LR if need be.

Auto ISO works great. I learned it from one of my workshop members.
"By teaching, so will you be taught".
With my small P&S, I tend to shoot -2/3ev. With the EP1, I shoot -1/3 EV in A mode with AUTO ISO(sometimes I fix the ISO depending on situation). I keep the metering in the first mode(ESP or DSP..something like that). I keep the gradation on normal.
 

pete

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Feb 26, 2010
Messages
156
Location
Phoenix, Az
Hey all, this may be old news but here's my little set up for exposure. I have my ael/afl button set to s/af/mf, and the shutter button is only used for exposure set and taking the picture, it will not focus. That way you can pre-set a spot to focus and then just shoot with the shutter button. Make sense?
Thanks all.
 
Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Mu-43 is a fan site and not associated with Olympus, Panasonic, or other manufacturers mentioned on this site.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2009-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom