1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

E-M5 as backup to E-M1

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by cyrax83, Jun 7, 2015.

1. cyrax83

cyrax83 Mu-43 Regular

Dec 8, 2014
    Hi
    I have an em1 with 12-40, 25 1.8, 45 1.8, 60 2.8 macro and cheap 40-150 4-5.6
    One of the stores near me was having a runout sale on E-M5 mk1 black elite model for $350 AUD ($270 USD) brand new so I thought it'd be great to use so I don't have to change lenses as much. I bought one but now question whether shutter shock is going to be an issue. I'm only an amateur so photography is a hobby.
    Did I make a good decision? Thanks

Last edited: Jun 7, 2015
  2. wjiang

wjiang Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Can't comment on any other aspect but you shouldn't let shutter shock worry you IMO. So many have used the E-M5 and loved it, so maybe shutter shock is not that big a deal. Also, the E-M5 suffers less anyway as it has a slower 1/4000s shutter compared to the E-M1 and E-P5.

• Agree Agree x 1
  3. cyrax83

cyrax83 Mu-43 Regular

Dec 8, 2014
    Great thanks for the feedback. Should I be using the 1/8sec shutter delay on the E-M5? I've heard it does make the camera quite sluggish so unsure

4. wjiang

I use the 20ms electronic front curtain on the E-M1 by default but never bothered in my 2 years with the E-M5 except when on a tripod doing long exposures (set to 2s anti-shock). I tried 1/8s but it was unacceptable to me.

What lens would you have on the E-M5 versus the E-M1 anyway? I wouldn't put a telephoto for action on the E-M5, the E-M1 is way better for that, and most of the wider lenses aren't that susceptible to shutter shock (except apparently the 14-42 PZ).

5. Klorenzo

Klorenzo Mu-43 All-Pro

Mar 10, 2014
    Lorenzo