E-M10 Electrical problems

fof9l

New to Mu-43
Joined
Mar 2, 2014
Messages
9
Location
Toronto, Canada, and Bournemouth UK
Real Name
Nigel Blumenthal
I've been having a couple of issues with my (otherwise wonderful) E-M10, all of which seem to relate back to possible electrical problems.

First, about a month ago, a 16GB memory card got trashed. Suddenly the camera refused to write to it, then the card was not readable by the camera or the computer. Would not format in either device.

I threw out the card, and was forgetting about it when... today, the camera showed my 32GB card as "full", even though it was only about one-third full (subsequently confirmed by checking on the computer). I record in JPEG and RAW, and the last RAW was written, but the corresponding JPEG was not. Switched off the camera, then on again, card still shows full. Switched off camera, left for a few minutes, then turned on again, and battery was dead. Replaced battery, replaced card, camera now works OK. When we got back home, I rescued all the photos from the card, then (following tech advice from camera store where purchased) re-formatted card in camera. The card is now showing a capacity of 1160 shots at the setting I'm using, which once again equates to about 11 GB (approx. 7MB + 13MB = 20MB per shot). That was the approximate number of shots that were on the card when it showed "full".

I'm wondering if there's some sort of electrical fault in the camera that is causing these glitches. Has anyone else experienced this kind of issue?

Thanks
 

fof9l

New to Mu-43
Joined
Mar 2, 2014
Messages
9
Location
Toronto, Canada, and Bournemouth UK
Real Name
Nigel Blumenthal
The card in question (that gives inaccurate space-left readings) is a Sony 32 GB; there's also a SanDisk 16GB (which is performing fine at the moment) and the card that got trashed last month was called Wintec. Thanks.
 

Swandy

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
Dec 15, 2009
Messages
362
Have had the EM10 since its release and never had an issue with it mis-reading a memory card. Were the cards formatted IN THE CAMERA before you started using them? Not doing this - either formatting them in a computer or another camera - is known to cause all sorts of read/write issues.
 

Timmy

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Dec 3, 2013
Messages
110
Location
Wiltshire - UK
Problems with the SD cards seems a more likely explanation to me. quality varies hugely + strange things can happen when reading/writing/formatting on a computer.
 

fof9l

New to Mu-43
Joined
Mar 2, 2014
Messages
9
Location
Toronto, Canada, and Bournemouth UK
Real Name
Nigel Blumenthal
Have had the EM10 since its release and never had an issue with it mis-reading a memory card. Were the cards formatted IN THE CAMERA before you started using them? Not doing this - either formatting them in a computer or another camera - is known to cause all sorts of read/write issues.
Thanks for your reply, swandy. Yes, they were originally formatted in the camera. Subsequently, the 32GB card was formatted on the computer, and then re-formatted in camera; formatting on the computer simply results in a blank card, but doing the format again in-camera adds the "DCIM" file firectory and its structure, so it would obviously have to be done that way.
 

fof9l

New to Mu-43
Joined
Mar 2, 2014
Messages
9
Location
Toronto, Canada, and Bournemouth UK
Real Name
Nigel Blumenthal
You should start by testing all your cards. Suppose they are faulty or fake.
See message 20 in this thread for instructions on doing a proper test.
https://www.mu-43.com/showthread.php?t=66115&page=2

Thanks - I'm trying that test now. That was a good observation, but I think the cards are OK - even when the camera was showing "Card Full", the computer was showing that there was plenty of space on the card and, with the card in the computer's SD drive, I was able to copy files to it from the computer. Strange...
 

fortwodriver

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Joined
Nov 15, 2013
Messages
993
Location
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Real Name
Frank
Ug... Wintec... I know that name. I believe those are low-end Toshiba-based cards. Mind you, I've even had a reasonably well respected Kingston CF card go bad in a Canon 1-series slr...

Since then I've stuck to Sandisk and Lexar.
 

Mikefellh

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Joined
Jun 7, 2012
Messages
938
Location
Toronto, Canada
You said "originally" formatted in the camera...how about the last time you copied the images off the card, did you then return the card to the camera and then formatted it?

I don't use "Erase All" or use the computer to erase images or format the card. It is ALWAYS formatted in the camera right after I've copied the images from the card...I've only lost one card in about 20 years of using memory cards (it was an early 2meg card that became unreliable).
 
Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Mu-43 is a fan site and not associated with Olympus, Panasonic, or other manufacturers mentioned on this site.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2009-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom