1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

E-M1 Tips and Settings Suggestions

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by PixelJohn, Oct 4, 2013.

1. PixelJohn

PixelJohn New to Mu-43

Oct 4, 2013
    I am new to the E-M1 and would enjoy hearing any settings tips and ideas from others. There is a lot to learn about this camera. Thanks.

2. Mikefellh

Mikefellh Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jun 7, 2012
    Toronto, Canada
    EVERYONE is new to the E-M1!

Most people who want one can't get one.

We should be asking YOU since you actually have one!

It's the cost of being an early adopter.

• Like Like x 1
  3. kevinparis

kevinparis Cantankerous Scotsman

Feb 12, 2010
    Gent, Belgium
    being a em5 user for a while i wont go into the general settings... but as a lucky owner of an E-M1 and user of legacy lenses one of the first things I did was to assign the lower front button to bring up focus peaking.

to try it out i picked up my partners 50/1.0 Noctilux... a notoriously difficult lens to focus on a Leica rangefinder. and put it on the em-1

still on the learning curve on focus peaking... its not a panacea for perfect focus... but its not bad

10058142295_2bc9000d8d_b.
    PA020036 by kevinparis, on Flickr

10058135325_ef9e6a357d_b.
    PA020009 by kevinparis, on Flickr

more here

http://www.flickr.com/photos/kevinparis2007/sets/72157636126623193/

K

Attached Files:

• Like Like x 2
  4. robbie36

robbie36 Mu-43 All-Pro

Sep 25, 2010
    Bangkok
    rob collins
    Well this thread seems like a good idea to me - we might eventually work the camera out. Any settings advice with an Olympus M43 camera should start with 'switch on the SCP' which is 'off' by default (under cog-d).

Now to the E-M1
    1) Under 'cog-c' there is a setting 'sequential shooting + IS off' which is set to 'on' by default. That means (I assume) that if you take say HDR photos the IBIS is switched off. I assume this is better switched to 'off'.