1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

E-M1 "AF-C" Back-button Focusing

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by T-Man, Sep 3, 2015.

1. T-Man

T-Man Mu-43 Rookie

Sep 3, 2015
    Brenham, TX
    Ted Winkle
    Hello everyone, new member here.

I just purchased an Oly OM-D E-M1 & the 12-40 f/2.8 Pro lens this week. I haven't even unboxed everything yet.

I'm an intermediate level enthusiast photographer with several years of shooting with Nikon FF and APS-C gear. I love my Nikon gear and plan to continue using it, but I bought into m4/3 for 2 reasons:
    1. To have a more compact, lighter "travel" camera that still provides great IQ, and
    2. The upcoming introduction of the 300mm f/4 PRO, providing 600mm equiv. in a much lighter, more convenient, less expensive package for my wildlife photography

Anyway, my question...
    How do I setup the E-M1 for "true" AF-C back-button focusing? By that I mean D-SLR style BB focusing, where:
    -- shutter button focusing is completely deactivated, and the rear button is the sole method of activating AF
    -- shutter priority
    -- AF-C mode stays active as long as the rear button is depressed.

I want to remove "half press" AF from the shutter button, and I want AF-C to remain full-time and continually adjust focus as long as I continue pressing the back button.

That way, if I want AF-S, I simply depress the button and release. If I want AF-C, I press and hold the button in and follow the subject. Releasing the button locks the focus, so I don't need a separate button for focus lock. With no AF on the shutter button, the camera doesn't try to refocus on something else while I recompose and shoot. I've grown accustomed to this method with my Nikons, and I think it has the advantages of all AF methods and none of the disadvantages.