1. Welcome to Mu-43.com—a friendly Micro 4/3 camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

E-M1.2 Sports Shooting - Focus Issues

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by jmwhite151, Aug 28, 2017.

1. jmwhite151

jmwhite151 Mu-43 Rookie

Jun 21, 2017
    I have been taking pictures of ultimate frisbee games with my E-M1.2 and 40-150/2.8 PRO off and on for a couple of months. I have been getting inconsistent focus results and am hoping someone can point me in the right direction. (Disclaimer: I'm still a relative newbie.)

Here are my ideal settings if the light allows:
    1/1000 sec, f/2.8, Auto ISO, Silent Seq. Low, C-AF+TR, 9 point focus
    Other settings, for reference in case changing one of these helps:
    C-AF Lock: 0, AF Limiter: Off, AF Scanner: mode2, Face priority: various (I accidentally change this all the time), Firmware: 1.2

I have only been using the tracking recently. I find that the green box seems to track the subject well. But the focus is still inconsistent. I took a series of pictures yesterday (focal length: 150mm) where the subject was not moving. The tracking seemed to do just fine. But the sharpest point in the image is the grass that is ~3 feet behind the guy. The subject focus was less than ideal. I didn't take enough other pictures to notice a trend. But a good portion (half?) of the pictures were slightly out of focus. Some were nice and sharp.

I had been using the same settings, except without the tracking and have temporarily given up on that due to inconsistent results. If I can get the tracking to work, I would like to give that a try.

I have found that decreasing the aperture to f/4.0 or higher can help. But that seems like cheating and hurts in low light.