1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

dual flash sync cord

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by mlopes, Nov 2, 2015.

1. mlopes

mlopes Mu-43 Rookie

Aug 8, 2015
    Portugal
    help again! :)

i need a dual flash ttl sync cord to work with an oly e-m5 mk2 and (probably) 2 olympus fl300r flash units.

would anyone be so kind and point me out some cable makers and models and where to buy them in europe?

thank you! ;)

2. Ross the fiddler

Ross the fiddler Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Why use cable when you can fire them TTL wirelessly (using the supplied clip on flash as a commander)? Also, you can set them up on two different channels if you want & adjust each setting differently right at the camera.

3. mlopes

mlopes Mu-43 Rookie

Aug 8, 2015
    Portugal
    doesn't commander mode uses optic trigger? or am i wrong?
    if so, and if i'm photographing outdoors in bright daylight trigger problems will certainly occur.
    but i'm a newbie to m4/3 so please, can you help me here?

Last edited: Nov 2, 2015
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. Ross the fiddler

Yes, it is using a coded pulsed light source (from the commander flash) but there are three levels of commander brightness, LO, MID & HI (selectable in the camera). I would suggest trying it. If you can reach the flash with a cable then I'm sure the light will be effective at that distance too if selected at HI. If the remote flash units are behind objects or the subject it will generally work from reflected light indoors but may get lost outside. Again, I suggest you try it. The commander flash also has the option of adding to the flash fill or not. It just has to selected appropriately (default at OFF).

• Like Like x 1
  5. mlopes

mlopes Mu-43 Rookie

Aug 8, 2015
    Portugal
    ok, thank you very much for your imput. i will try it but i have to investigate how to work with commander mode first ;) besides the manual can you point some where else to look for? some user friendly guide?