1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

DSLR to M43 - your thoughts

Discussion in 'This or That? (MFT only)' started by mnhoj, Dec 16, 2011.

1. mnhoj

mnhoj There and back again

Dec 3, 2011
    Los Angeles
    John M
    For those of you that have transitioned completely, I was wondering if you could add a few thoughts about the things that you miss, things that you like, things that you didn't think you would like but did, etc.

I recently picked up an E-PM1 kit and 45 1.8 and love it. I don't even want to look at my D7000. :)

I'm on the fence on keeping a small kit of both. I want a full M43 kit but the zero budget means something has to go to make room for new goodies.

Thanks.

2. Ned

Ned Mu-43 Legend

Jul 18, 2010
    Alberta, Canada
    It all depends on what kind of photos you shoot. I'm a commercial photographer specializing in product and fashion, and work both in-studio and on-location. There's really nothing a DSLR offers that a PEN can't deliver, and in many cases it does so better for my type of work. The small body form, variable-angle viewfinder, and fast operating LiveView are wonderful assets to making my day easier than swinging around a heavy DSLR, tied to the eye-level viewfinder. I can shoot from all kinds of angles, and my camera doesn't tire me out from a day's shooting (even with the same lenses as I've always used).

Then for my more casual shooting or event coverage, the small body and easy packing of the camera (especially with legacy primes) also makes my world so much easier than before. I can now have a capable camera with me everywhere I go which is versatile, stylish, and fun to use.