1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Dropped lens, probably a dumb question.

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by sammykhalifa, Dec 19, 2012.

1. sammykhalifa

sammykhalifa Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jun 22, 2012
    Pittsburgh PA
    Neil
    I picked up a camera/lens at the Goodwill today. It seems pretty nice, other than it looks like at some point it had been dropped and the metal rim where the filter thread is got a little dinged. Is there a safe way to repair this, or should I just leave it go? I'm no expert, but otherwise it seems to be in great shape.

I realize that that is not optimal for buying a serious lens. But this should still be a fun learning experience for me and the price was right. It's not like I'm looking to boost the resale value, or that I've blown a giant purchase or anything like that (it set me back $5.99). I was just thinking it might be nice to get a filter/hood for it at some point.

8288853011_d0ca7fbdcb_c.

8288855151_b22cfae9f0_c.

8288857665_3703655727_c.

(Just for fun, here's one of the first shots I took using it):
    8288860609_36b3692d51_c.

(I realize there's a "show your new lens" thread and other similar things . . . sorry if I should have posted this in one of those)

2. Ross the fiddler

Ross the fiddler Mu-43 Hall of Famer

I straightened out an OM 50mm f1.8 lens like that (thankfully a good one came with it too), but the aperture blades were sticky & not really usable except perhaps for reversed lens use where slow adjustment of the aperture wasn't so important. I think I used a piece of shaped wood to assist in the straightening process at the time.

3. fspeur

fspeur Mu-43 Rookie

Sep 23, 2012
    Edmonton AB, Canada
    Frans
  4. Cruzan80

Cruzan80 Mu-43 All-Pro

Aug 23, 2012
    Denver, Co
    Sean Rastsmith