1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Downsizing

Discussion in 'Welcomes and introductions' started by jamgam, Dec 28, 2013.

1. jamgam

jamgam Mu-43 Regular

Dec 27, 2013
    Atlanta, GA
    Jamie
    Hello Folks

New guy from Atlanta, GA and in the process of "downsizing". Been discovering lately that as a hobbyist I've been grabbing my EOS-M more often than not and leaving the "big/heavy" bodies and lenses collecting dust. I like the images from the EOS-M but don't like how bland some of the features are so I've decided to unload the some gear and grab myself a nice mirrorless body and a couple of lenses and see how that goes for me. Leaning towards the OMD-EM1 as I do have a 1 year old that is getting mobile and I love to take pictures of her new tricks :biggrin: I've played with the EM1 in the store and to say that the focus speed puts my EOS-M to shame is an understatement. Anyways, still doing research but would like to pick something up before a trip right after new years to Pasadena, CA (War Eagle)

Nice place here, lots of good info

jamgam

• Like Like x 3
  2. yakky

yakky Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jul 1, 2013
    Welcome! The EM1 is a great choice!

• Like Like x 1
  3. hazwing

hazwing Mu-43 All-Pro

Nov 25, 2012
    Australia
    the EM1 is larger than the EOS-M. If you don't need all the features of the EM1, you can get a similar performing sensor in smaller body (e.g. olympus EPM2 or EPL5). Or theres is the panasonic GM1, which is smaller still. Just comes down to what sort of controls and features you want.

4. fredlong

fredlong Just this guy...

Apr 18, 2011
    Massachusetts USA
    Fred
    If you use lenses on your camera the EM1 is smaller. It will also be smaller than the other bigger equipment the OP has been leaving at home.

Fred

5. jamgam

jamgam Mu-43 Regular

Dec 27, 2013
    Atlanta, GA
    Jamie