Downsizing (but not downgrading!) to m43 from dSLR

Discussion in 'Welcomes and introductions' started by MegletRamblesOn, Oct 18, 2015.

1. MegletRamblesOn

MegletRamblesOn Mu-43 Regular

Oct 13, 2015
    Seattle
    Hi All! I'm new to the micro 4/3 forum and technology, moving over from the world of Canon dSLR.

I used to have a serious photography habit, even surviving a 365 (photo a day) Project at one point. But over the last couple of years, I've found myself shooting less and less because I just haven't wanted to pack around the weight of even my "light" kit. So this fall I finally determined that it was time to do whatever I needed to do in order to get back to more shooting, and it turns out that meant going to m43 for a (somewhat) lighter and more portable kit.

After some debating between mirrorless and m43, and then between the various m43 options, I settled on the Panasonic Lumix DMC-GX8. While it's not the smallest and lightest camera available, it is still considerably lighter than my previous Canon gear, but still meets my slightly unusual requirements of having a real viewfinder, rotating LCD, and enough resolution that it's not a downgrade from my dSLR. For the moment I've paired it with the simple Pannasonic 14-42mm G X Vario lens while I re-evaluate what kind of kit is truly necessary and after my first day of use I'm quite happy with my choice.

The camera arrived so late on Friday night that I didn't have time to do more than pop in a battery and memory card, and then I headed out with some friends first thing Saturday morning. The light was awful and I certainly kept adjusting some dials I didn't mean to, but I still managed to come home with some fun "keepers" at the end of the day!

Today I get to spend some time reading through the manual and figuring out all of the fun options.