1. Welcome to Mu-43.com—a friendly Micro 4/3 camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

Does shooting in RAW ruin the fun in photography?

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by Dinobe, Aug 6, 2018.

1. Dinobe

Dinobe Mu-43 Regular

Nov 23, 2017
    Lochristi, Belgium
    Let me start by saying that I fully understand what RAW means, I've been shooting (purely) in RAW for over 15 years now. The first couple of years I only shot in jpeg as I didn't get what RAW was actually about. I don't want to start the next jpeg vs. RAW debate.

As a full-time working father of 2 (one baby, one toddler) I have rarely any time left to do photography. So going on photography trip somewhere doesn't really happen any more. Mostly the photography trip is limited to taking my camera while taking the dog for a walk in neighbourhood.

As time is limited to go out and take photos, the time to actually process the images on my computer is even more limited.

The problem is I have a gigantic backlog of photos that still need processing. And there is always that nagging feeling in the back of my head 'still need to do those photo's from this or that occasion'

Would it be more satisfying to shoot in jpeg? Just do a quick cull, maybe a bit of tweaking and get the photos out there for people to see. If a SOOC jpeg file can give me 85% of the results in 15% of the time, would it be more fun?

Or is the full RAW processing still the most rewarding way to go? But if you going to tinker a bit with the jpeg files, why not go full RAW?

What's most satisfying: getting your images out there, or getting those 2-3 images out where you spent hours on processing and photoshopping?

What do you guys feel?

(Yes you could RAW + jpeg if you just happen to get the shot of your life)

• Appreciate Appreciate x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
  2. hazwing