Does anyone here sell prints at Art shows/Festivals?

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by Wisertime, Oct 8, 2014.

1. Wisertime

Wisertime Mu-43 All-Pro

Aug 6, 2013
    Philly
    Steve
    Does anyone here sell prints at art shows/festivals? If you have any experiences or advice I'd like to hear your thoughts.

My local area has a few art shows with very good attendance (at least 10-15k+ I'd guess) several times a year and so do the neighboring communities within 20 miles or so in any direction. I've been attending some of these for 4 years now and always check out the photography there. There are usually about 7-10 booths devoted to photography, and of those maybe 2-3 really stand out to me as very good quality. One of which is just there to promote portraiture, not sell prints. The others range from so so kitchy to decent, but not mind blowing. I see some of the same ones year to year and I've been encouraged by some friends to set up my own booth. I take that advice with a grain of salt, but I do think I have some images that might sell in the local market, but how much, I have no clue. I think my work might (by my own judging) be ranked in the upper half somewhere...but of course that is subjective.

Just wondering if anyone else here has experience selling at these outdoor festivals? I looked into it a little this week to see what it would cost. I'd guess, probably a minimum of $2000 just to get set up and print/mount some inventory, get display boards, frames etc. Our local show is $165 minimum to get a booth (tent provided I think)...and it is juried, so like many, I guess you pay about $35 to apply and hope you get selected 4-6mos in advance. If I thought I could at least sell enough to recoup my costs, I'd probably give it a go, but obviously I'd like to maximize income and perhaps further fund my hobby. I could try some of the smaller shows to see if I get any interest at all first.