Do you shoot RAW + JPG?

memzinla

Mu-43 Top Veteran
I used to shoot JPG only, and was happy with them. I just didn't like that they seemed soft, but I love love love the color output. I then started to shoot raw, and loved the image quality. Sometimes I take time getting the colors to where I want, but the outcome is really good. Today I started shooting RAW + JPG, and I looooooved the colors on the JPG image. I can't get the RAW image to look like the JPG image, but I'm not an expert and don't know much about it. haha. That's probably the reason why. Do you guys just shoot RAW?

T N Args

Agent Photocateur
Real Name
call me Arg
Just RAW for me, with occasional RAW+JPEG if I want to shoot a specific effect with JPEG, e.g. a scene mode or creative mode.

In general use, RAW+JPEG chews up memory and restricts the continuous shooting buffer too much for my liking.

billbooz

Mu-43 Regular
Real Name
William H. Booz
I typically shoot RAW+JPG when shooting in special Picture Modes, such as Monotone, so that I can transfer the B&W JPG to my iPad using my Eye-Fi Mobi card and then those RAW versions I decide to keep to my computer into Aperture or Lightroom.

WhidbeyLVR

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
Real Name
Lyle
RAW + medium size (2560x 1920) JPEG. Takes only a little more space that RAW alone, and gives me something quick to share. I haven't been bothered by lag in clearing the buffer, but I don't shoot rapid-fire very often.

yakky

Mu-43 Top Veteran
I shoot RAW+JPEG and usually just import the JPEGs. On occasion I'll find I need the raw but especially with Oly and Fuji, rarely do.

kevinparis

Cantankerous Scotsman
RAW only......except when I have a new camera thats not yet supported in Aperture :).....then I shoot RAW+JPEG in the interim and then throw the jpgs away when I have RAW support.

One file per shot is easier to manage, especially with Aperture