1. Welcome to Mu-43.com—a friendly Micro 4/3 camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

Do you really need that FF mirrorless system?

Discussion in 'Other Systems' started by Holoholo55, Oct 26, 2018.

1. Holoholo55

Holoholo55 Mu-43 Hall of Famer Subscribing Member

Aug 13, 2014
    Honolulu, HI
    Walter
    I saw this posting on Dennis Mook's blog today. I agree heartily. I left a pro-grade APS-C camera (Canon 7D) behind for an M43 system 6 years ago. Haven't looked back since. Getting an FF system would be unsustainable for me and I have higher priorities for my limited budget. I'm not a pro, and can't justify expenditures with income. To those who want to experiment with an FF system, you have my blessing. I ain't taking that train. I don't NEED an FF system. :) 

The Wandering Lensman: I Have Been Seriously Toying With Buying A Full Frame Mirrorless Camera; Notes on Sony, Nikon and Canon And A Surprise Ending

• Agree Agree x 1
  2. Thai-Mike

Thai-Mike Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Aug 2, 2016
    Thailand
    Michael
    I think it is not about need. It is, I guess, what I want to feel comfortable with.

• Agree Agree x 2
  3. Holoholo55

Holoholo55 Mu-43 Hall of Famer Subscribing Member

Aug 13, 2014
    Honolulu, HI
    Walter
    Well, if you're not comfortable with something, then something must change. I had a Canon 7D and even though I didn't have a bagful of L lenses, what I had weighed and was bulky enough that seeing and touching an Olympus EM5 was enough to change my whole way of thinking. I wasn't comfortable any more with the Canon, and found the M43 a lot more comfortable. That hasn't changed for me. I still have lust for new stuff (GAS), but have tried to be sensible (my wife may not agree :)  about it. Would I be more comfortable with the size, weight, and cost of an FF system? I don't think so. IMHO. :)