1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

Do You Enjoy Little Working Model Engines? If you make them or have one, show us

Discussion in 'Other Genres' started by Iconindustries, Jun 14, 2010.

1. Iconindustries

Iconindustries Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Ever since I was 5 I was fascinated with working engines and most machines in particular. As a mechanic I work on big engines and machinery all the time so my enjoyable hobby is making little working engines. I'm a kinda guy who likes small intricate things. Things that are built well. Mum has always encouraged me to build things and she used to help me when I was young to build these creations my head thought up. One thing I really wanted to build was a little steam engine. For many years I dreamed about building one but I never had the right parts. As got older around 13 my desire to build a little engine was still burning and I new I needed a metal lathe. So i got stuck into thinking of a way to make some money to buy such a thing. Mum had the idea of making ornamental birdhouses. Whoa, what a hit they were to all the crafty women around the neighbourhood. I could not keep up to the demand for awhile. These birdhouses I made were the type that crafty people enjoy with little nicknacks, lace and cute shapes ect. Everyone in the neighbourhood wanted one and slowly my little piggy bank started to grow. 2 shops asked I would like them to sell them so I kept my head down manufacturing birdhouses and I got quite good at decorating them. One day I counted up my money and I had a 1000 dollars. Dad and I went into town and bought a little metal lathe for exactly 1090 dollars. My dream had come true, I could now build my very own Steam engine. I was 15.