Do lightroom presets that brighten images introduce noise?

Discussion in 'Image Processing' started by vtsteevo, Nov 28, 2012.

1. vtsteevo

vtsteevo Mu-43 Regular

Nov 20, 2012
    Hey guys, I am new to Lightroom and have always shot JPG. I am also new to my GX1 + 20mm.

Tonight at a restaurant I shot a RAW+JPG in iAuto with f/1.7, 1/30, ISO @ 1600. The JPG looks fine, and if I do a straight export of the RAW out of lightroom it looks fine as well. I then started to play around with some presets - most of which brightened the image, which I thought made it look better. However it introduced a whole lot of noise. Am I doing something wrong, or is noise a side effect of fixing exposure issues in post processing?

P.S. I am exporing at the JPG quality level of 76. Haven't uploaded the images yet b/c they are 9 MB each!

Thanks,
    Steve

2. Zariell

Zariell Mu-43 Top Veteran

Sep 28, 2012
    Bountiful, UT
    Increasing brightness can introduce noise, especially in the shadows, you can do recovery with the noise filter in lightroom, but its better IMO to get the exposure right in camera, but as we all know thats not always possible.

Just remember its a double edged sword, the lighter the image the more noise you introduce, and you can remove noise with NR but then you risk going the other way and making your image into a cartoon :p

I try to keep the noise down by using the adjustment brush only on the parts of the image that need it, then I can do NR just to that part of the photograph.

3. tanngrisnir3

tanngrisnir3 Mu-43 Top Veteran

Oct 18, 2011
    Steve, you're asking questions that can't be immediately answered.

Could you post the images you're talking about? That would pretty much put what you've shot up front and center.

4. vtsteevo

vtsteevo Mu-43 Regular

Nov 20, 2012
    I uploaded them to photobucket. Zariel, I will try the brush method. Which filters are you referring to though?

RAW with no processing
    P1060030.
    Some processing