1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Do I need the Olympus Extended Warranty on my refurb body and lenses?

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by seventysixersfan, Sep 1, 2016.

1. seventysixersfan

seventysixersfan Mu-43 Rookie

Jun 24, 2016
    Alexandria, VA
    Brian
    Hi all -- I got an E-P5 and two lenses from the Olympus outlet store recently. All three items look in perfectly new condition, and come with the 90 day warranty for refurbished products. My question is-- should I buy the 2 year extended warranty for my camera body and the 4 year extended warranty for my lenses? I am new to M43 system and to Olympus camera equipment, so I don't have a sense about their general reliability. Will I be wasting my money buying these warranties? (Note: I've purchased and owned lots of Pentax equipment over the past ten years and have never purchased an extended warranty plan on anything-- and luckily have never had a mechanical defect or malfunction occur. But I don't know if Olympus bodies and lenses are more fragile or prone to failures)

Thanks for any thoughts you might have on this. Really appreciate it!

2. KBeezie

KBeezie Mu-43 Top Veteran

Sep 15, 2012
    Grand Rapids, Mi
    Karl Blessing
    Depends on the cost, when I looked up what a out-of-warranty cost would be for my old E-P3 it was roughly a $125 flat rate (basically refurbs it and cleans it and includes a 6 month repair warranty if you send it in), for my E-M5 (Mk1) it's about $160.

Seems the E-P5 body would be about $150 if you had to send it in currently.

The 2 year extended warranty is $99... However:

May need to check if the 'outlet' is considered authorized in that respect.

PS: In my opinion, the warranty is going to be more beneficial for the body, I don't ever seem to have a problem with my lens, and generally speaking, depending on which lens you have, it may be just cheaper to replace.