1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Do I need permission to post pictures to a website?

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by redington, Mar 29, 2013.

1. redington

redington Mu-43 Regular

Apr 28, 2012
    I'm designing a fair housing website for a local non-profit. We don't have much money or resources. I drove around and took a few pictures of plain, ordinary, not-special looking buildings. I can't seem to be able to figure out whether I need to get permission from the property owners to be able to post these pictures to this non-commercial website. Does anybody have any idea?

Side note: I am an attorney, but I know as much about IP law as I know about biochemistry (nothing at all). Any help is appreciated.

2. redington

redington Mu-43 Regular

Apr 28, 2012
    Thanks! I'll have to look around the site. That particular page covered taking pictures, which is going to have different rules from posting images publicly.

3. slothead

slothead Mu-43 All-Pro

Aug 14, 2012
    Frederick, MD
    I would get the permission just to be in the clear, in case someone gets upset for one reason or another.

4. Rudy

Rudy Mu-43 Veteran

Jan 24, 2013
    Oakland, CA
    Google street view shows you pretty much any house that has a road going in front of it. They do blur out license plate numbers and faces, but that's it.
    This holds for the US site. Google did get into trouble with street view in Europe where privacy rights are handled differently. They are blotting out significantly more over there.
    Rudy

5. redington

redington Mu-43 Regular

Apr 28, 2012
    Rudy - that was what I was thinking, too. I did crop out a couple of license plates (it helped with the composition anyway) and there are no identifiable people in the pictures.