Do brand new Olympus cameras always come with zero shutter release?

rogergu

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Feb 11, 2013
Messages
94
Recently I purchased a brand-new E-M1 from Olympus directly. When I received the camera, just out of curiosity, I checked out the shutter release in the hidden menu. Turns out the shutter release are 100-ish and the flash is fired 2 times.

I am wondering if it should always be zero or maybe it is due to the usage for the manufacturer QC?

Thanks!
 

madogvelkor

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Joined
Feb 22, 2013
Messages
943
Location
Connecticut
From what I've read they usually do have about that many. Part of the testing process, I assume. Though I've always bought mine refurbished so I can't say from experience.
 

yakky

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Joined
Jul 1, 2013
Messages
661
Recently I purchased a brand-new E-M1 from Olympus directly. When I received the camera, just out of curiosity, I checked out the shutter release in the hidden menu. Turns out the shutter release are 100-ish and the flash is fired 2 times. !
Lol...my refurb E-M5 had less, 63 :tongue:
 

RDM

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Jan 6, 2011
Messages
1,408
Location
Orange County, New York
Very interesting.... I purchased my EP-L1 used so I didn't know that Oly has such a high count. I bought my Pana GH-2 new and it had a count of 3.
 

MAubrey

Photographer
Joined
Jul 9, 2012
Messages
1,469
Location
Bellingham, WA
Real Name
Mike Aubrey
Lol...my refurb E-M5 had less, 63 :tongue:
Sometimes stores sell overstock as 'refurbished' just to get them out the door. That way there isn't a dramatic drop in price for regular new ones, but they're still able to sell them more quickly at a discount. Your E-M5 was likely brand new.
 

nixapatfan

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Feb 26, 2014
Messages
27
Now I feel like I got a really good deal on my refrub ep5 which had 197 shutter count for about half price. I don't think Oly refurb does any real testing just clean and functionality check and repack because my first refurb ep5 had error codes and bad ibis which I had to send back.
 

jnewell

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Jun 23, 2011
Messages
1,751
Location
Boston, MA
They might -- but then perform more testing which raises it back up.
The point is that there's no reason for it to be higher or lower than a new camera, until/unless someone with first-hand knowledge of the Oly refurb process contributes some additional information.
 

uci2ci

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Jun 22, 2012
Messages
1,024
Location
Los Angeles, CA
Real Name
Sam
They don't. My EPM1 had 800+.
I think it has to do with what was repaired during the refurb process. My EM-5 had a major repair done (full board and sensor replacements) shortly after purchase and the shutter count was reset

That being said, it think its totally normal and necessary for the shutter to be tested in-house prior to being sold. 100 or so shutter aint worth worrying about
 

Rudy

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Joined
Jan 24, 2013
Messages
529
Location
Oakland, CA
Now I feel like I got a really good deal on my refrub ep5 which had 197 shutter count for about half price. I don't think Oly refurb does any real testing just clean and functionality check and repack because my first refurb ep5 had error codes and bad ibis which I had to send back.
As another data point, my refurbished E-P5 had a shutter count of 380.
 

RDM

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Jan 6, 2011
Messages
1,408
Location
Orange County, New York
I would expect that refurb cameras have had the shutter count reset during the refurb process.
They might -- but then perform more testing which raises it back up.
They don't. My EPM1 had 800+.
They should not reset it, and hopefully don't, unless the shutter has been replaced at the time of refurbishing. For If they did reset it, the count on the number of actuations on the shutter in the camera would be inaccurate.
 

RDM

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Jan 6, 2011
Messages
1,408
Location
Orange County, New York
I would expect that refurb cameras have had the shutter count reset during the refurb process.
They might -- but then perform more testing which raises it back up.
They don't. My EPM1 had 800+.
They should not reset it, and hopefully don't, unless the shutter has been replaced at the time of refurbishing. If they did reset it, the count on the number of actuations on the shutter in the camera would be inaccurate. Now I don't know about you all, but I like knowing how many times the shutter has been through an actuation, and would not want the count to be shown as a few hundred less, especially if I was buying a used camera,
 
Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Mu-43 is a fan site and not associated with Olympus, Panasonic, or other manufacturers mentioned on this site.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2009-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom