Do artists care about sensor size?

Lupin 3rd

Mu-43 Top Veteran
I came across a couple documentaries, one about Daido Moriyama and one about Miyako Ishiuchi. While watching the videos I noticed both of these are shooting street photography with what seem like small point and shoot cameras.

Here are the videos, btw:

I guess my insecurity is such that I find it somewhat comforting to see renown artists using point and shoot cameras for (at least some of) their work. Or maybe I need the occasional reminder that sensor size isn't everything, and that art depends on a whole lot more than having a fancy camera. Not that I'm an artist! :biggrin:

Also this helps talk me off the ledge of buying needing wanting a medium format camera... :biggrin:

BosseBe

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
Real Name
Bo
Well, as a nonfamous nonartist, I must say that size doesn't matter as long as you have the art down pat!
You can always get good results if you pay attention to your subject and its needs.
The tools you use for this is secondary.
😎

retiredfromlife

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
I hate to say it but to me it seems Mu-43 users worry the most, others may comment on it on the forums but worry not.

I think it best to ignore the whole subject, sit back relax and take more photos :drinks:

Edit, for my response I think of Care and worry on forums as being the same, but that is just me

Last edited:

doady

Mu-43 Regular
Imagine doing street photography with a medium format camera. Might be difficult. These photographers chose a small camera? Maybe they DO care about sensor size.

jimr.pdx

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Real Name
Jim R
Size insecurity is ingrained in human society, in so many different ways. Those who have enough know it, those unsure will always be swayed by something that costs a bit more and promises great rewards.

I'm practically blushing, this is a photo forum right?

alex66

Mu-43 All-Pro