1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Disappointed with the 14 or impressed with the 12-50?

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by dakarp, Aug 31, 2012.

1. dakarp

dakarp New to Mu-43

May 22, 2012
    I picked up one of the de-kitted Panasonic 14/2.5 primes that are reasonably prices on eBay. It is surprisingly small--I didn't expect it to be even smaller than the 20. However, I can't decide whether I'm unimpressed with the image quality, or super-impressed with the quality of my Olympus 12-50 kit lens (on my EM-5).

At the same aperture, the image quality seemed quite similar to my eye, save for more chromatic aberration in the prime, and MAYBE slightly sharper corners in the prime, but nothing I'd really notice. (Take that with a grain of salt--this is my first non-point-and-click camera. I've learned enough to shoot in manual, but I'm still a complete beginner.)

Of course, the 14/2.5 is capable of a much wider aperture than the kit, but I don't know how useful that will be on such a wide lens. Maybe it will be helpful shooting indoors without a flash? I doubt I'll have much call to try to get a shallow depth of field on such a relatively wide lens.

So, is it just the case that the kit is quite good? I'm trying to figure out if there are enough use cases that I should keep the 14, or if I'd be better off just using the kit when I want that FoV. I DO like the fact that it is so small, and that may be enough (especially considering the price).

2. demiro

demiro Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Nov 7, 2010
    I have had the same thought dakarp. My 14/2.5 doesn't figure to get much use, but given the low resale value and the convenience of having such a small lens it is hard not to keep.

3. RevBob

RevBob Super Moderator

Jun 4, 2011
    NorthWestern PA
    Bob