1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Digital or Digital via Film

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by BobBill, Dec 16, 2013.

1. BobBill

BobBill Mu-43 Veteran

Dec 29, 2010
    MN USA
    Bob Hively-Johnson
    I have been shooting digital for a couple years or so and engaged the medium's obvious advantages...which to me is mostly no film worries (convenience).

My most-used cameras are the Pens and a small Lumix point and shoot that is waterproof etc/convenient sailing etc.

But, on the other hand, when I get into the art of photography, I remain a film guy, and use my trusty F2A (PH11) and develop the film, and then scan it.

It seems the scanned film remains the superior end product, the drag being camera weight and fewer options at shutter press and weight.

I must add that most, if not all, of my serious attempts are with B/W film...but there are those color moments...

I may go back to film, with all its fiddling, and wonder if others here or elsewhere have found themselves in a similar conundrum?

2. Nathan King

Nathan King Mu-43 Regular

Jun 19, 2013
    Omaha, NE
    I have had a pro lab scan my black and white 6x7 medium format negatives to 18 megapixels. I have had some of the scans printed but prefer the look I get from my silver gelatin prints on an enlarger. Of course, I would kill to be able to do in the darkroom what I can do with the scans in Photoshop!

There is A HUGE range of tonality in a negative (look at them under a loupe on a light table); however, that range is larger than even high end fine art papers, so not all of them will always print with adequate tonal separation. I can really nail the exposure with my Seikonic one degree spot meter and can judge if I'll need to modify development to retain as much highlight and shadow detail as I can, which is considerably more than my E-M5. For me, its not a conundrum, I do prefer film and use my Mamiya 645 and RZ67 more often than my E-M5.

• Like Like x 1