1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Deleting Images

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by Reactivestills, May 11, 2014.

  1. Reactivestills

    Reactivestills Mu-43 Rookie

    16
    Apr 6, 2014
    Dublin, Ireland
    Gary Martin
    I seem to be overlooking something but its driving me mad..

    On my previous Canon 5D you could lock whatever images you didn't want to erase when erasing a card in camera. On the E-M1 it has the function to lock an image for protection but when I "Erase all" it still deletes the locked images.. Why is this happening? what am I doing wrong?
     
  2. Reactivestills

    Reactivestills Mu-43 Rookie

    16
    Apr 6, 2014
    Dublin, Ireland
    Gary Martin
  3. Wisertime

    Wisertime Mu-43 All-Pro

    Aug 6, 2013
    Philly
    Steve
    Are you reformatting? I think my other Olympus cameras lock the images upon delete all, but if you reformat it erases everything. I made that mistake before and lost locked images. Even if you don't lock, you can recover some images, because the card overwrites what's already on it.
     
  4. agentlossing

    agentlossing Mu-43 Hall of Famer

    Jun 26, 2013
    Andrew Lossing
    I sometimes used that lock feature on my Nikon DSLR, but never on my GX1, I use the multi-select delete feature instead and pick out what I want to delete.