1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Decison

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by photoheron, Jul 13, 2013.

1. photoheron

photoheron Mu-43 Regular

Jun 22, 2013
    Fort Smith Arkansas
    Brad
    The past month I have asked questions, to learn about the micro 4/3 cameras.
    I have also looked at the mirror less no 4/3 cameras. I have decide that I want to venture into the mirror less 4/3 world.

My budget can not afford the higher end cameras. Looking at the mid ranged priced cameras. What ever camera body I buy it will be the foundation of system, that will include several lens. I will build my system slowly.

I'm a photo hobbyist and love taking pictures of the world around me whether it is an old building, birds, nature, flowers or street.

I have mainly have narrowed my choices to a G-5 or an Olympus E-PL5 or ?
    Any thoughts?

2. ThomD

ThomD Mu-43 Veteran

Jun 1, 2013
    SF Bay Area
    The lenses are the foundation of your system. In the digital age, cameras come and go, but good lenses last a long time. If your budget it tight, consider a used camera.

3. RT_Panther

RT_Panther Mu-43 Legend

May 4, 2011
    Texas
    Agreed - or check and see if the GX1 is still on sale...

4. William Stanwood

William Stanwood New to Mu-43

Jan 8, 2013
    You can get a great buy on a Panasonic GX-1 body right now. It's a great camera, and you can start to add lenses as you need them. Best of luck!

5. William Stanwood

William Stanwood New to Mu-43

Jan 8, 2013
    One other thing... Although it adds some expense, the accessory viewfinder makes a huge difference the GX-1's usability in my experience.

6. chipshot713

chipshot713 Mu-43 All-Pro

May 24, 2012
    Pearland, Texas
    Kelly
    The G5 is a great camera with lots of features and it has the efv. I just picked one up 2 weeks ago for $310 on Amazon, body only, but I also have several m4/3 lens that I use on a G1, GH1 and GF3.

7. photoheron

photoheron Mu-43 Regular