Decentered camera! (E-M5 II with ultra-wide lenses)

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by Egregius V, Jul 26, 2016.

1. Egregius V

Egregius V Mu-43 Regular

Jun 14, 2015
    Massachusetts, USA
    Rev. Gregory Vozzo
    Hi, everyone. I've had some recent experience with decentering in lenses: specifically, I tested three Oly. 75-300 II lenses and had one with perfect symmetry, one obviously decentered across the frame, and one with a bad corner in the 100-150mm range. Now I have an Oly. 7-14 PRO and have been comparing it with my 9-18 and Pan. 12-32. The good news is that all three lenses take outstanding photos. However, with all three, I am seeing an extra amount of blur along the right side of the frame (especially in the corners) in scenes where there is already some edge/corner softness due to field curvature and depth. Stopping down (or changing the focus point to favor the foreground scenery toward the edges) naturally reduces or eliminates the asymmetry.

So far, I have not seen these signs of decentering with my GX85, so it seems to be a problem with the E-M5 II's lens mount or sensor. The camera is out of warranty, so I'm in no hurry to send it in for repair. Just wondering - might there be a way to deal with this problem myself or at least be more certain about the cause? For instance, I notice that the lens mount has been stained black over time: might simply cleaning it (with what?) resolve this? Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

2. barry13

barry13 Super Moderator; Photon Wrangler

Mar 7, 2014
    Southern California
    Barry
    Isopropyl aka rubbing alcohol is a safe and effective cleaner... use with q-tips or cotton balls or a non abrasive cloth.

• Informative Informative x 1
  3. pdk42

pdk42 One of the "Eh?" team

Jan 11, 2013
    Leamington Spa, UK
    I doubt dirt on the mount is the issue, but easy to try it anyhow.