D7000 or Panasonic GX7 (survival of the fittest)

Discussion in 'This or That?' started by dcrx, Oct 17, 2014.

1. dcrx

dcrx Mu-43 Rookie

Sep 21, 2014
    Hey guys,

I have recently got a nikon d7000 after one year of being with the gx7.
    My journey with the gx7 was amd still is interesting and I believe it is a interesting camera, however I am not a professional photographer but more of a hobbist so I will need to decide within the return period if Im going to return it or not (which Im inclined not to).

For nikon i have only the 50 which ive owned before coming to m43 with my d90 and loved it and for gx7 i have all 3 cool and amazing lenses pan 20mm f1.7, oly 45mm f1.8 and the new arrived toy with an all metal construction 35mm f1.7 cctv manual lens.

Im going to put my cons and pros for each camera from a user point of view.

Panasonic GX7 pros:
    + compact and portable
    + amazingly well implemented wifi/nfc connection
    + good image quality
    + i might also say that iso performance is over d7000
    + tilt-able touchscreen

Panasonic GX7 cons:
    - overall lower dynamic range and dof even with the 45mm (voitglanger seems way too expensive and not a necessity for a hobby photographer)
    - I seem to have more keepers with the d7000 over the panasonic
    - way lower battery duration

Nikon D7000 pros:
    + best image quality I've had so far on a camera
    + great bokeh with the 50mm f1.8G
    + sometimes I don't have the mood to pp the photos with my pets for example and to me the nikon seems to have a better jpeg engine
    + sturdier and built like a tank
    + easier to operate everything
    + better viewfinder
    + lenses are cheaper and i can even rent some (none available in my country for m43)

Nikon D7000 cons:
    - wifi access (could be fixed with eyefi card)
    - not so easy to throw in my car for example
    - no low angle without grtting dirty