CWB question on EPL1

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by boogie, Apr 30, 2010.

1. boogie

boogie New to Mu-43

Apr 30, 2010
    Hi

I'm Andrea from Pittsburgh, Pa., and have just purchased my first m4/3 cam.
    I chose the EPL1. After using slr's/dslr's over 40 years this cam is a gem and
    I don't even mind the shutter speed. :smile:

I have been shooting infrared for over 8 years with various P&S/Dslr's and plan on converting this cam to Full Spectrum.
    I use a Leica C-LUX3 for my visible pictures.
    But I've run into a problem that maybe someone can help me with.

How do you control WB/CWB while in the Art Filters? All my images require
    a CWB with a infrared converted camera.

I've tried everything I could think of in the menus while in Art Filter Mode and it won't budge from Auto WB.
    I sure hope I'm missing something somewhere. :frown:

Your help would be greatly appreciated.

2. DavidB

DavidB Mu-43 Regular

Apr 7, 2010
    Melbourne, Australia
    My instinctive reaction is that Art Filters only work with JPEG, so why bother?

Maybe an E-PL1 user here can make "CWB" work for you in that mode, but I wouldn't bother. Just set your custom WB to give you useful previews and histograms, and then apply your "filters" and other processing as you process the RAW files and/or once you get it into Photoshop.

Do you prefer a different way of working?

3. boogie

boogie New to Mu-43

Apr 30, 2010
    Yes you are correct David as to art filters working in only jpeg...which is fine for me.

I did some more looking in the camera menus and found I could change Auto WB to CWB in the G menu. Went back to the art filter and it worked.

Today I've set a CWB and have the histogram showing...I can't work without the histogram. The feature set is great on the camera I just have to learn it.