Cropping Photos

Jamie

Mu-43 Rookie
I hope this is in the right place. I have a quick short question.

When i'm editing photos and I want to crop the scene, should I ideally be sticking to certain ratio sizes when cropping my work?

Kind Regards

Jamie

kevinparis

Cantankerous Scotsman
like most things there are no real rules - but there are probably 4 ratios that are common

4:3 - the native ratio of a 4/3 camera - and standard definition TV

3:2 - the classic 35mm film format ratio

1:1 - Square format - used by old medium format film cameras

16:9 - the widescreen TV format.

probably more important than the ratio is to make sure the elements in your picture fit in the right place. A good rule of thumb is the rule of thirds

Rule of thirds - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Its an excellent starting point in deciding how to crop

cheers

K

Fiddler

Mu-43 Veteran
I'm no expert, so just my opinion, but I thought about that myself, and came to the conclusion that I should crop to whatever gives the most pleasing result. The only downside is that if you print and frame sometimes an unusual frame size is needed.

All the best,

Colin

Streetshooter

Administrator Emeritus
+1 on Kevin's post!

like most things there are no real rules - but there are probably 4 ratios that are common

4:3 - the native ratio of a 4/3 camera - and standard definition TV

3:2 - the classic 35mm film format ratio

16:9 - the widescreen TV format.

probably more important than the ratio is to make sure the elements in your picture fit in the right place. A good rule of thumb is the rule of thirds

Rule of thirds - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Its an excellent starting point in deciding how to crop

cheers

K

Jamie

Mu-43 Rookie