1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

Creating a new camera

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by ksn, Mar 26, 2011.

1. ksn

ksn Mu-43 Veteran

Mar 6, 2011
    I've never formally introduced myself when I joined, so it's better late than never :smile:

I'm a recent graduate with a major in industrial (product) design, currently seeking employment. During this downtime, I've had a lot of time to explore different hobbies. Photography was something I never really got into, but would like to re-explore. I have an 8 year old Nikon D50 with maybe 2 lenses and 12000 actuations, but most of my photos were never real inspired. Being a fan of Panasonic, I picked up a GF2, which brought me to these forums.

Now, I've been spending a lot of time going through my portfolio, fixing up details, etc and I realized that every project in my portfolio was based on guidelines either set by a course I had taken or a competition. So wanting to create an entirely new project, I gave a lot of thought to what I wanted to create. Thinking that a project started on my own initiative and based on my interests will be more motivated and inspired, I decided to create a new m4/3 body because of my recent fascination with my GF2.

I've put a lot of time into research, reading about people's different experiences on different forums, which was what had sparked this topic (https://www.mu-43.com/f35/what-micro-4-3s-missing-10336/) but being fairly unexperienced to the subject, I've had to read up on some fairly amateur topics as well just to familiarize myself with some of the terms and technology, many which I still struggle with.

If people are interested I'll post my progress in this thread and any constructive criticism, advice, tips, etc would be most welcome.