Could this work? Adapter w/ lower crop factor.

carpandean

Mu-43 Top Veteran
I'm relatively new to photography, but learning a lot fast. I'm also trained as a mechanical engineer (though I have not practiced in many years), so I tend to think a lot about how things work. That said, I haven't had time to sit down and think about the true geometry of what I'm proposing or made any serious calculation. This is a more of a back-of-the-envelope type design.

We all know that (in theory) the adapters for legacy lenses place the mount at its original distance from the film or sensor. If done right, the lens focuses to infinity, but not beyond. As most of us also know, cheaper adapters often don't get this measurement correct, leaving the lens either too far away (can't focus to infinity; in essence an adapter plus a small macro extension tube) or too close (focuses beyond infinity, but not on anything close.)