1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

contemplating a switch from Canon DSLR to m43

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by Bruce Sherman, Aug 20, 2016.

1. Bruce Sherman

Bruce Sherman New to Mu-43

Aug 20, 2016
    I am a complete newbie to the micro 4/3 world. I have looked over a lot of the forums here - lots of really good stuff.
    I shoot birds, wildlife, and grandkids. Tired of carrying around Canon 7DII, 100-400 II, 400 f4 DO II, and a CF tripod. The things I like about my present kit is the IQ and the fast focusing speed of both my lenses. What I dislike about it is the weight and bulk.
    I am especially interested in these two lenses - the Panasonic 100-400 and the Olympus 300 f4 and its teleconverter. I have no idea which camera body would suit my needs. My initial inclination is to go with either the Olympus OM-D E-M1 or the Panasonic GH4. I have no interest in the video capabilities of either body.
    Both Olympus and Panasonic seem to have numerous different camera bodies. I would appreciate any suggestions, comments, etc. about which camera body would do best considering my interests and the two lenses I have mentioned above.
    Thanks in advance.

2. siftu

siftu Mu-43 Top Veteran

Mar 26, 2015
    Bay Area, CA
    siftu
    Right now you are best to wait a month or so and see what the em1ii brings to the table as far as AF tracking is concerned. I think coming from a 7dii and expecting similar wildlife/tracking in m43 is unrealistic. Saying that if you change your style you can certainly do it.

• Agree Agree x 4
  3. tkbslc

tkbslc Mu-43 Hall of Famer

You aren't going to save a lot of bulk, as the m4/3 super telephotos are still quite large. The lenses will be a little narrower and a little shorter, but not by a lot.

(Visual comparison: Compact Camera Meter)