Considering Switching to m4/3

Discussion in 'This or That?' started by letsgocoyote, Nov 25, 2011.

1. letsgocoyote

letsgocoyote Mu-43 Regular

Nov 25, 2011
    Hi guys and gals,

I have been doing photography for about 13 years, starting with disposable cameras and then moving onto point and shoots, and my first slr.

Anyhow, right now I have a Canon t3i with battery grip, 18-55 canon, 50mm 1.8 canon, 50-200mm sigma, and 8mm fisheye (rokinon/samyang/pro-optic/etc), plus a couple average flashes and radio slaves.

It's a great camera! One reason I bought it was for the video, which looks amazing.

However, it is also a very bulky camera. I am considering selling it all off to get a similar m4/3 setup. There are lots of great m4/3 lenses to choose from. I was wondering if you all could chime in and help me consider various points so I can decide whether or not a m4/3 camera is right for me. My main motivation is to have a camera that will unobtrusively slip into my backpack for day to day use, but still has a full system to back it up.

Points that I am interested in:

-I would probably get the E-PM1 body. How good (or bad) is the video feature? I typically either use my t3i with the kit or 50mm lens prefocused on a tripod, or the fisheye where manual focus isnt critical.

-I rarely use my 50-200mm on my Canon... when I do it's usually for the rare wildlife shot and I feel even at 200mm its too short for that. The Pani 100-300 and Oly 75-300 seem expensive, so I think I would get an inexpensive 3rd party K-mount 70-300mm and an adapter. Seems like I could get that for about $50. Anyone else do this for super long telephoto?