Confused about mft lenses

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by Gary Thompson, Oct 9, 2017.

1. Gary Thompson

Gary Thompson New to Mu-43

Oct 9, 2017
    First off, hello everyone.
    I'm coming across from Nikon of which I've been a user for over 10years. I've been shooting full frame for the last 3 years and am switching to an Olympus OMD E 5mk2 (it's arrived at the shop and I'm very excited).
    I'm trading in my D750 body and a selection of lenses for a few MFT lenses.
    The problem is, I'm a bit confused as to why all the reviews state "XX full frame equivalent".
    I'm looking at the 60mm 1.8, 17mm 1.8, and 40-150mm 2.8 Pro.
    Every time I read a review, the reviewer, for example for the 60mm 1.8, will state 120mm ff equivalent (I see the crop factor on the mft is x2).
    Now. When I went to ff with my Nikon gear, I understood that I'd have to upgrade to ff lenses or I'd have vignetting using my DX (aps-c sensor) lenses. I also understood that going the other direction, ie. fitting an FX (ff) lens to a DX camera body would result in cropping, which I did quite a bit when using my old D80 and scouring eBay for older, non aps-c lenses.
    In this case with the Nikon, I can see why someone would say that a 30mm prime full frame lense on an aps-c would have an effective length of 75mm due to the 1.5 crop factor. Simply because the full frame lens is designed for a full frame sensor and the DX lens is designed specifically for an aps-c camera ( I won't go in to the distances from sensor to lens etc etc).

So. After all that, if all the lenses I'm looking at are designed for the mft camera, why is everyone mentioning the X2 cropped ff equivalent?