Confused about automatic lens correction in OM-D (and MFT in general)

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by ginobonetti, Jul 30, 2012.

1. ginobonetti

ginobonetti Mu-43 Rookie

Jul 30, 2012
    Hi all,

I recently sold my DSLR equipment in favor of an OM-D E-M5, so I am new to this format and this forum.

I have a question about in camera lens correction as it is the case with Panasonic/Olympus Cameras and native lenses.
    So far I understood that correction data is embedded in the RAW files and automatically interpreted by Lightroom/ACR when importing the files. So I am actually never going to see the non-corrected files, right?

However, if I use PTLens (as I always did with my DSLR-RAW's) there still seems to be a lot of distortion in the images and after using PTLens the images look much more pleasant.

This is especially the case at 12mm wide angle with the 12-50mm kit lens and quite noticeable with the 20mm 1.7 pancake.

What are your experiences with this? Is there something wrong with my camera or is in-camera correction just not that good as I hoped it would be..?

This really confuses me right now. And the fact that there are no profiles available for Panasonic/Olympus in Lightroom/ACR because of this feature makes it even worse..

Thanks for any help on this.

2. mattia

mattia Mu-43 Hall of Famer

May 3, 2012
    The Netherlands
    Can you post a couple of examples?

I know DxO does its own profile corrections, not sure if they also use the 'built in' correction for the RAW files or not.
  3. st3v4nt

st3v4nt Mu-43 Veteran

May 26, 2011
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    I don't have any comment regarding this matter...but what is PTLens?
    is it Photo Tele Lens?
  4. dre_tech

dre_tech Mu-43 Veteran

Jan 31, 2012
    It's software, for geometric lens correction if you're not the guessing type. A web search might provide more insight.