Computer Monitor & color calibration?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by hmpws, Apr 24, 2010.

1. hmpws

hmpws Mu-43 Regular

Apr 24, 2010
    Auckland, New Zealand
    I keep running into trouble with color presented on my GF1's LCD and my computer monitor(s)... any easy way of calibrating (as much as possible) without buying the hardwares?

2. BBW

BBW Super Moderator Emeritus Charter Member

I'm not going to be the one to help you out here, but I do think people will need to know what kind of computers you're using.

3. hmpws

hmpws Mu-43 Regular

Apr 24, 2010
    Auckland, New Zealand
    True, my monitors are all LCD's. I have a HP dv5 laptop (can't expect much from a laptop) and a Benq E2220HD. They are both running off a Nvidia Geforce 9600M GT.

4. BBW

Thanks, show's you how much I know, eh? I am hopeful that you will get some real help as the day/evening wears on.

5. spark

spark Mu-43 Regular

Feb 8, 2010
    Toronto
    I am no expert, but to my knowledge (again limited) LCDs are difficult to calibrate. Most marketing/film production uses a CRT for the final colour tweaking. Hopefully someone else can shed more light.

6. LisaO

LisaO Mu-43 Top Veteran

Mar 18, 2010
    New York Metro Area
    Lisa
    LCDs can be calibrated but it is best done using something like the eyeone or spyder. What version of windows do you have? Have you looked in control panel display settings?

7. franklyspeaking

franklyspeaking Mu-43 Regular

• Like Like x 4
  8. hmpws

hmpws Mu-43 Regular

Apr 24, 2010
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Thanks for the replies, I gave Calibrize a try, but it didn't work out so well.

I looked around for a bit looking and came across QuickGamma, as well as a guide on how to use it. It took me an hour fiddling, but I quite like the result at the moment.

• Like Like x 2
  9. BBW

hmpws, I'm very glad you've been able to find a way to calibrate that makes you happy.

10. ajramirez

ajramirez Mu-43 Veteran Charter Member

Jan 16, 2010