Coming from a P&S, is the slow AF on E-PL1 noticeable?

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by RichStant, Apr 17, 2010.

1. RichStant

RichStant Mu-43 Rookie

Apr 17, 2010
    I'm looking to upgrade from a point & shoot to something pocketable but with better quality & low light performance. After reading numerous reviews, it seems most of the world is torn between the better image quality/low light performance/IBIS on the E-PL1, and the much faster AF on the GF1.

However I don't really know how the figures for AF speeds translate into real-world use. I'm not a pro - coming from a compact point & shoot, am I going to notice the slow AF, or is it likely to be much faster than my old compact anyway? Does it make much of a difference in the real world?

I'm basically going to be shooting standard family stuff.

Thanks for any advice - I know similar questions have been asked everywhere recently, I'm just after putting the raw performance figures into context of what I want to do!!

2. BBW

BBW Super Moderator Emeritus Charter Member

Welcome Rich, and I'll give you might take. I have to say that the E-PL1 is not the fastest camera in very low light. But "very low" is a relative term. If you are inside in a room with the average amount of lights on or even one light on, you should not have any problems. If, however, you are in a very minimally lit room...say just the light of a TV set..you can have issues with the auto focus hunting for focus. It's not always like that, but it can be that way. There are however, scene mode options among other controls that can override the "hunting".

If you're more concerned about capturing speed - such as children, dogs, sports...there are ways to work that as well, but I wouldn't be the best person to respond since I'm not really a "techie" but more of an intuitive type who does read the manual sometimes.:biggrin: