Colour or not.

Discussion in 'Image Processing' started by jax99, Feb 13, 2012.

1. jax99

jax99 Mu-43 Rookie

Feb 12, 2012
    Beek, The Netherlands

I'm a newbie here and been browsing in the Street section. What strikes me is that almost all photo's are in b&w. Do you shoot in b&w or in colour which is processed into b&w?
  2. meyerweb

meyerweb Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Sep 5, 2011
    I suspect you'll find some people do one, some the other. There are some trade-offs. If you shoot in B&W (which means shooting in JPEG), it's easier to pre-visualize what the image is going to look like. Maybe. But it also limits the control you have later, if you want to modify the way the B&W image conversion was done.

If you shoot in color, and convert to B&W in post processing, you have the ability to apply all kinds of filter effects based on the colors in the image (e.g., applying a "red" filter will darken blues, and lighten reds and oranges) in the final B&W image. If you converted in camera, the reds and blues are gone, so you can't easily do that. And note the word "maybe" above. If you're viewing the image in B&W, you're seeing how the camera chooses to convert the colors. It won't necessarily show the dramatic, dark skies you can get by applying a red filter in post, so what you see isn't necessarily what you get.

I generally shoot in color, and decide whether the image will look better in B&W later, but there is a compromise. If you shoot raw+jpeg, you'll see the jpeg image in the viewfinder in B&W, but you'll have the color raw image to play with in post. The best of both worlds, perhaps, if you know you want the final output in B&W.
  3. Ned

Ned Mu-43 Legend

Jul 18, 2010
    Alberta, Canada