Choosing first Micro 4/3 camera !

Discussion in 'This or That?' started by justa1972, Jun 30, 2013.

1. justa1972

justa1972 Mu-43 Regular

Jun 29, 2013

First post on here so go easy !

I've very recently sold all my Nikon gear, not because I wasn't happy with it (D5100 & 16-85 + 35mm) it was excellent but I got sick of carrying it all around - I don't really know how I came to end up with such a heavy kit as I'm an incredibly lazy photographer that hates carrying things !

So I find myself here...

I started looking at the G5 and then the G6 but then got sidetracked by the Olympus OMD EM5 and Fuji XE1 (which I've discounted due to the expensive lenses)

Too afford the OMD I would have to go for a grey import (I'm from the UK) which can be got for around £700, the G5 is cheapest at £429 including a free 45-150 and the G6 can be had for about £550...

I'm not sure I can justify the extra expense of the G6 but really like a couple pf features such as panoramic mode, wi-fi etc

Too be honest I'm more than a bit confused now so I thought I'd join up here and do some research and hopefully get some advice !

2. RT_Panther

RT_Panther Mu-43 Legend

May 4, 2011
    Might want to start off with the cheap Lumix GX1 and spend your change on good glass :smile:

Others will chime in though...
  3. justa1972

justa1972 Mu-43 Regular

Jun 29, 2013
    thanks mate - should have added a viewfinder is essential to me..
  4. rnagoda

rnagoda Mu-43 Veteran

Jun 12, 2012
    Pittsburgh, PA
    GX1 ... and a viewfinder? :tongue: