Choosing a Genre

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by Nathan King, Sep 1, 2013.

1. Nathan King

Nathan King Mu-43 Regular

Jun 19, 2013
    Omaha, NE
    I'm still new to photography and am finding myself shooting all sorts of different subjects. How did all of you more experienced photographers settle on one or only a few genres?
  2. kevinparis

kevinparis Cantankerous Scotsman

Feb 12, 2010
    Gent, Belgium
    Shooting different subjects is not a bad thing. To me its much better to do that than just concentrate on one thing.

Shoot what you enjoy

3. PatrickVA

PatrickVA Mu-43 Veteran

Jul 31, 2012
    Central Virginia
    Just keep shooting - eventually you'll gravitate toward what you enjoy the most. I find that I love looking at landscapes and architectural shots way more than I like taking them. My pictures are most exciting to me when there are people involved.
  4. Pecos

Pecos Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jan 20, 2013
    The Natural State
    Shoot all kinds of shots - around the house, on trips, people, parties, places. Shoot all times of day, etc. You get the picture. Sooner or later you will find what you enjoy most and do best.
  5. jacko

jacko New to Mu-43

May 30, 2013
    I totally agree....shoot whatever catches your eye. Don't do what I have done...i have been shooting doors .... all around the world....lots and lots of doors....books of contact sheets of doors.....a drive full of electronic doors., shoot, shoot, shoot....lots and lots of stuff...and HAVE FUN.
  6. 0dBm

0dBm Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jun 30, 2011
    Western United States
    I once read that Henri Marie Raymond de Toulouse-Lautrec-Monfa began his works with the subjects that were most prevalent to him at the time he woke up.
    This seems to be a sensible start.
    I once began photographing the window through which the sun drenched the curtains and right side of the chair in my tiny bedroom.