1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

CHEST PACKS for E-M1 when hiking, cycling, skiing etc

Discussion in 'Accessories' started by greenboy, May 24, 2014.

1. greenboy

greenboy Mu-43 Rookie

May 23, 2014
    Hi all, newbie here,

I had a pretty good system for my old superzoom camera, using the Mountainsmith Zoom-S case. The camera's own strap around my neck provided top strap and when I wore the Zoom-S case it provided protection and kept the camera from swinging around, using a provided multipurpose clip-on strap. The case allowed me to carry extra batteries and cards as well. I could zip top most of the way if desired but still have quick access. It worked out great for hiking, cycling, etc because it kept everything snug and out of the way of the activity's demands.

HERBK_D2.

I'd like to do something similar for a E-M1 but also have more room for the Oly 12-40mm, 60mm macro, and 75-300 lenses, and also be able to use with dayhike or backpacking bags. So more space, and in a way that I could continue to use the camera's own strap as part of the system. I've looked at a few products but feel I could benefit from knowledge of more. Any product suggestions?

2. SkiHound

SkiHound Mu-43 Veteran

Jan 28, 2012
    Cotton carrier has a system. I think Spyder does as well I've not used either. I recently purchased a Peak Design Capture and Pro Pad. I put the Capture on my backpack strap or, if not using a back pack, the Pro Pad with capture on my belt. Seems to work pretty well. You see pictures of them holding FF cameras with big lenses and after using it that just looks uncomfortable. But for an E-M5 it works well.

3. greenboy

greenboy Mu-43 Rookie

May 23, 2014
    Hey SkiHound,

I'm not seeing where that gives you access to 2 or three extra lenses up front though, nor a little protection from elements and bugs at 65 mph

4. Harvey Melvin Richards

Harvey Melvin Richards Photo Posting Junkie

Feb 15, 2014
    Southwest Utah