1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Cheap "adventure" cam

Discussion in 'This or That? (MFT only)' started by InlawBiker, Oct 31, 2013.

1. InlawBiker

InlawBiker Mu-43 Veteran

Feb 1, 2012
    Seattle, WA
    Greg
    Hey all, along with my DSLR I'm looking for a cheap adventure camera to bring skiing, hiking and biking. I will likely use kit zoom lenses, almost all outdoor.

I could go Panasonic, Olympus or a compact so long as it does HD video. Ideally the camera will fit into a jacket pocket or cargo pants pocket.

Some of my thoughts were the E-PL3, GF3, GF2, or GX1 if I can swing it. Maybe the G3? But smaller would be better. I used a Pana G2 last year but, it's a little too big and 720p video only. Otherwise I loved it.

The Nikon P7700 looks like a good one too but I'm a little wary of point n' shoot compacts. I have heard that Panasonic does better video than Olympus but I have no first hand experience. I would appreciate any thoughts on this!

2. RoadTraveler

RoadTraveler Mu-43 All-Pro

Nov 23, 2012
    First let me say I love your handle, Mr. InLawBiker ;)

I can't comment on the other models but I have both the G3 and several GX1s. I prefer the positive, firm feel of the buttons and dial of the GX1 over the G3, noticeably better. But the G3 has a built-in articulating LCD and a viewfinder if those are priorities. Both can be had inexpensively used now, though I thought the GX1 was the deal of the century a few months ago when they were selling them for $200 new.

3. moccaman

moccaman Mu-43 Veteran

Jan 4, 2012
    Australia
    What about an LX7? wonderful pocketable camera with a superb little lens, get the filter adapter ring off ebay, stick a nice filter on it for protection and you are good to go.

4. RoadTraveler

RoadTraveler Mu-43 All-Pro

Nov 23, 2012
    True, the LX7 is a cool, powerful little camera. Just one lens but it is very fast. I like mine and have a clear filter on it too.

5. mrjr