1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

capturing the feel of sunlight

Discussion in 'Other Genres' started by floppymoose, Mar 23, 2011.

1. floppymoose

floppymoose Mu-43 Regular

Feb 22, 2010
    as a beginning photog, one thing i find challenging is capturing the "pow" of sunlight. here is an example picture as a starting point. i'm interested in advice on techniques for getting the same kind of impression from sunlight in a photo that i do with the naked eye.

I tweaked this in Apple Aperture to tone down the highlights but otherwise raise the exposure. I feel like the camera doesn't have the dynamic range that our eyes/brain do, and this is my attempt at compensating for that.

• Like Like x 2
  2. ksn

ksn Mu-43 Veteran

Mar 6, 2011
    I'm only a beginner as well, but perhaps you can enhance the light through post processing.

3. floppymoose

Feb 22, 2010
    I did. "aperture" in my post above refers to the photo post processing program from Apple. But I don't really know what I'm doing there, so I'm looking for specific feedback. And also feedback on things I should be doing with the camera at shoot time. I've edited the post to make it more clear.

4. Alanroseman

Alanroseman Super Moderator Emeritus

Dec 21, 2010
    New England
    Dynamic Range

Hi,

This is from dpreview on Dynamic range and the GF1

Dynamic Range

"Our Dynamic Range measurement system involves shooting a calibrated Stouffer Step Wedge (13 stops total range) which is backlit using a daylight balanced lamp (98 CRI). A single shot of this produces a gray scale wedge from (the cameras) black to clipped white (example below). Each step of the scale is equivalent to 1/3 EV (a third of a stop), we select one step as 'middle gray' and measure outwards to define the dynamic range. Hence there are 'two sides' to our results, the amount of shadow range (below middle gray) and the amount of highlight range (above middle gray).