1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Can't decide what will get the job done

Discussion in 'This or That? (MFT only)' started by vonvonnie, Jan 2, 2013.

1. vonvonnie

vonvonnie New to Mu-43

Jan 2, 2013
    NC
    Von
    Hi all, I'm newly registered, but I've been browsing around here for a few months. Of course, after all of the browsing, I'm completely confused as to what camera will get me the look I want for the price I need to keep it at!

I'm a pro photographer, and I have a full D700 setup with all the goodies. The thing is, I love taking pics & the 700 is a heavy bring along for quick trips & places where I don't want to be the one with the big camera - you know how it goes. Anyway, I want a small camera, purse sized, and that has pics almost comparable to the D700.

I don't want to get roped into a brand new kit and everything, I just want a nice camera that takes good low light photos, somewhat speedy, but I love the look of photos with shallow DOF. Mainly, I want a camera to replace the instagram on the phone as my available camera when I take pics of my son & I when out and about.

So, I've been eyeing everything from Olympus EP3 to Nikon V1. The V1 is excellent on price right now, but oooh, the DOF issue has me on the fence! Then, there is the question of do I really NEED the EP3 to get the look I want? The big thing is, I have about $500 in gift cards to spend at Amazon. I cannot decide what to pull the trigger on! I really want the Pany 20 1.7 lens, but it's going to blow the budget unless I get an older camera (but which??).

My main picks this week are EPL2, Nikon V1, or EP3 w/kit lens and save for the Pany. Am I making this more complicated on myself? Is there something else in price range that would be a good small camera?

I know I ramble, but thanks anyway for the help!

2. gsk3

gsk3 Mu-43 Regular

Jan 29, 2012