Canon speed light on EP1

chefkenny

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
61
Location
Florida
Just want to tell you who has Canon 550EX or 580EX that the speedlights can be attached to the EP1 without any modification in manual mode, wireless flash also works :)
Was thinking to sell off some of my 550EX ( I got 4 ) and now I am saving them :)
 

Rich M

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
Mar 2, 2010
Messages
315
Just want to tell you who has Canon 550EX or 580EX that the speedlights can be attached to the EP1 without any modification in manual mode, wireless flash also works :)
Was thinking to sell off some of my 550EX ( I got 4 ) and now I am saving them :)
CK......you are shooting these in manual mode, I assume. What do you mean wireless works as well? Are you slaving off of the 580EX?

I have a bunch of Canon flashes and never thought to try them. :redface:
 

ahuyevshi

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
Feb 9, 2010
Messages
454
Location
Berkeley, CA
Yep it works... looks stupid ;) but works fine.... I have been shooting mostly in home studio with a pair or 580-IIs and Pocketwizard...

Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)
 

ajramirez

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
Jan 16, 2010
Messages
212
Location
Caguas, Puerto Rico
I have been triggering two 580EXIIs with an ST-E2 controller from my E-P1 (in manual mode) for a while now, with good results. I do tape the extra contract terminals on the ST-E2, however. Would you say I can stop using the tape without damaging the camera or the controller?

Regards,

Antonio
 

Rich M

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
Mar 2, 2010
Messages
315
I have been triggering two 580EXIIs with an ST-E2 controller from my E-P1 (in manual mode) for a while now, with good results. I do tape the extra contract terminals on the ST-E2, however. Would you say I can stop using the tape without damaging the camera or the controller?

Regards,

Antonio
WOW....ST-E2??? I have that baby....never even CONSIDERED using it for my :43: cameras.

What/how do you tape contacts?

R
 

chefkenny

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
61
Location
Florida
Yep, don't need to tape the extra contact and thats what I did :)
Was search on line to see what those contacts spec. but I just try it without tapping them and they all work out good.
I try all 5 of mines :) 4x 550ex and 1 580ex.
 

Rich M

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
Mar 2, 2010
Messages
315
BOTH you guys are DOUBLY awesome.. :2thumbs: :2thumbs:

I know wireless is the way to go (according to the pro's), but I never had problems with my ST-E2. I am digging that baby out of my bag today. :yahoo:

R
 

Latest posts

Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Mu-43 is a fan site and not associated with Olympus, Panasonic, or other manufacturers mentioned on this site.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2009-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom