Canon FD same as EOS EF?

s0nus

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
Dec 13, 2010
Messages
424
Location
Chicago
I just picked up a legacy lens with a Canon FD mount, and I'm trying to choose an adapter for it. RainbowImaging only has a Canon EOS EF to m43 adapter, and I was wondering if it'll work for an FD lens?

My Google-fu is weak in answering this particular question.

Thanks!
 

ajramirez

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
Jan 16, 2010
Messages
212
Location
Caguas, Puerto Rico
No. They are two completely different mounts. Canon EF is the current mount for Canon autofocus lenses. There are no mechanical linkages; communication between camera and lens is fully electronic.

Canon FD is the legacy mount. There are no autofocus FD lenses (except the ones developed for the T80 afaik) and linkages are mechanical.

There are plenty of Canon FD adapters available ranging from the expensive Novoflex, to inexpensive adapters available from various vendors through eBay.

Regards,

Antonio
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
7,397
Location
Brisbane, Australia
Real Name
Nic
FD lenses will only work on EF mounts by way an adapter that requires an optical element to maintain infinity focus. You need to get an m4/3-FD adapter to use the lens on your camera.
 

s0nus

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
Dec 13, 2010
Messages
424
Location
Chicago
Thank you for the quick response! I realized that Wikipedia has nice descriptions of the history of mounts that answers my question pretty clearly as well.

Here's a followup: anyone have any happy experiences with a particular FD to M43 adapter that you would recommend?
 

BrianK

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
Jan 20, 2011
Messages
309
Location
Lansing MI
s0nus said:
Thank you for the quick response! I realized that Wikipedia has nice descriptions of the history of mounts that answers my question pretty clearly as well.

Here's a followup: anyone have any happy experiences with a particular FD to M43 adapter that you would recommend?
I have had great luck with FotoDiox on Amazon.com

BK
 

BillN

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Jan 19, 2010
Messages
1,264
Location
SW France
do a search on here; the FD/M43 mount has been discussed

It is quite a "fiddly" mount and you need to get "the lever" in the "right position" otherwise the aperture remains fully open

I bought a couple of mounts from Hong Kong - RJ Camera - they are well made, a good price and work fine - (as I said they are all fiddly - it's just the design of the FD and FDn lens)
 

qball

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Jun 19, 2010
Messages
170
Rainbow Imaging... I have at least 6 different m4/3 to ??? adapters from them via ebay. Fast service and fast shipping
 
Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Mu-43 is a fan site and not associated with Olympus, Panasonic, or other manufacturers mentioned on this site.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2009-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom